On-Campus Activity: Painting Beijing Opera Masks

My roommate suggested that I attend an event where the Beijing Opera group on campus would perform and then the audience could paint their own masks. Dare, Ryan, and I decided to check it out. A male student sang a female character’s song. In the past, men played all roles–women, men, gods, etc–however, nowadays, women can act in Beijing Opera.

If you don’t know what Beijing Opera sounds like, take a look at this video:

After the performance, we painted our own masks. I’m pretty proud of mine! It was nice attending this event and getting to know fellow foreign and Chinese students. Sometimes I feel isolated in my program. This event made me feel more connected to my school’s community.

Our Own Masks

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

